The names and capital of the 9 union territories are as follows ……

Who is called a union territory? The names of the Union Territories of India (9 Kendra Shasit Pradesh ke Naam) and Capital: 9 Union Territories are as follows.

Union Territories are Special Administrative Areas in the Republic of India. They do not have their own government. These are administered and controlled by the Central Government. The new Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly will have a five-year term in place of the current six years.

Government employees of the new Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh will start receiving pay and other benefits as per the recommendations of the Seventh Pay Commission. The welfare schemes of the Center will be applicable to the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. The state police will come under the direct control of the Ministry of Home Affairs.

There are nine (9) union territories in India. These have their assemblies in Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir.

Each region has a capital. The territories are governed by a Lieutenant Governor appointed by the Central Government of India. The President of India has the authority to regulate the affairs of all union territories which have a legislature.

9 Union Territories Names

Here is the list of 9 Union Territories of India.

1. Jammu and Kashmir (bifurcated on October 31, 2019): On 5 August 2019, the government dissolved Article 370 of the Constitution of India, divided the state into two union territories and informed that Jammu and Kashmir is now There will be a Union Territory with its own Legislature, similar to the administration of Puducherry and Delhi. In the case of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, it will be a self-administered government.

2. Ladakh (bisected on October 31, 2019): Ladakh is truly a paradise on earth. With the announcement by the Home Minister of India, Amit Shah, “The Ladakh Division of the state of Jammu and Kashmir has a large area, but is inhabited by a very difficult area. The people of Ladakh have been in demand for a long time, giving it Union Territory status to enable them to fulfill their aspirations. The union territory will be without the Ladakh Legislature. Ladakh is now a union territory of India.

3. National Capital Territory Delhi (Capital Delhi): Delhi or National Capital Territory of Delhi is a city and a union territory comprising the national capital of India, New Delhi. Like the states of India, Delhi is administered by its legislature, High Court and Council of Ministers.

4. Chandigarh (Capital of Punjab and Haryana): Chandigarh, a union territory which is the capital of Punjab as well as Haryana. In a culture that includes both examples of traditional Punjab as well as modernism. Chandigarh is similar to Delhi as it is given the status of a city and a union territory at the same time. Despite being the capital of both Punjab and Haryana states, it is directly governed by the central government. Geographically, the state of Punjab is located to its north, south and west while the state of Haryana is located to the east.

5. Andaman and Nicobar – Capital – Port Blair: The Andaman and Nicobar Islands were collectively the first union territory of India after India gained independence. These islands are located to the south-east of the mainland of the India peninsula, which borders the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea.

6. Pondicherry – Capital Puducherry: Pondicherry, also known as Puducherry and commonly known simply as Pondicherry, is one of the seven union territories of India. It is often referred to as the French Riviera of the East, and is actually one of the most fascinating and fascinating places to visit in South India.

7. Lakshadweep (Capital Kavaratti): Lakshadweep has India's most beautiful and exotic islands and beaches. Formerly a part of Madras (now Chennai), the Lakshadweep islands were separated and granted Union Territory on November 1, 1956.

8. Daman and Diu (Capital Daman): Daman and Diu are the two regions which are collectively administered as a single union territory. The Gulf of Khambat separates these two regions.

9. Dadra and Nagar Haveli (Capital Silvassa): Similar to Goa and Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli was also a part of Portuguese India until the mid-20th century. The small area of ​​Dadra is in Gujarat while Nagar Haveli is between the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat.

Scroll to Top